Update on translations available on this site

I am happy to announce that the first two parts of “The Return on Investment” are available in Spanish as well as English on the Free Stories page. I’ve found a lovely person in Colombia to provide these translations, Daniela Toulemonde, who is also a writer. You can learn more about Daniela on the Collaborators page.

Also, I wanted to let you know that I have been trying to figure out how best to share translations on this site and, even though I have found no truly graceful way to make that happen, I’ve decided to simply focus on getting all my stories into my four focus languages–English, Hindi, Spanish and Mandarin–for now.  I will also try to translate posts into these four languages, but I won’t be able to do that regularly for a while. There’s more about why I’m including translations on this site here.

If you are a speaker/writer/reader of one of these non-English focus languages, please comment or send me a message. It is important that we writers encourage each other to reach out to readers in other languages, and, as a reader, I try to read translations regularly, too. Translation, however, especially literary translation, takes time and skill, so I’d like to know if others find the effort worthwhile.

 

EspanolMe complace anunciar que las dos primeras partes de “Rendimiento de la Inversión” están disponibles tanto en español como en inglés en la página de Historias Gratis. He encontrado a una persona grandiosa en Colombia para hacer estas traducciones, Daniela Toulemonde, quien también es escritora. Puedes conocer más sobre Daniela en la página de Colaboradores.

Además, quiero que sepan que he estado intentando encontrar la mejor forma de compartir las traducciones en esta página y, aunque no he encontrado una manera elegante de hacerlo, he decidido simplemente enfocarme en tener todos mis cuentos en mis cuatro lenguas prioritarias ­–inglés, hindi, español y mandarín– por ahora. También intentaré traducir entradas a estas cuatro lenguas, pero no aún podré hacerlo regularmente por un tiempo. Puedes leer más sobre las razones por cuales que estoy incluyendo traducciones en este sitio aquí.

Si eres un hablante/escritor/lector de alguna de estas lenguas prioritarias, aparte del inglés, por favor comenta o envíame un mensaje. Es importante que como escritores nos incitemos unos a otros a comunicarnos con lectores en otras lenguas. Como lectora, también intento leer traducciones regularmente. Sin embargo, la traducción requiere de tiempo y habilidad, así que me gustaría saber si otros ven el valor en ella.

 

2 thoughts on “Update on translations available on this site

  1. Hey Laura
    This was fascinating and intriguing. I am currently working on a translation of a Hindi novel for the same reasons – Hindi is invisible and insular. Finding and translating a Hindi SF will be interesting to me as an avid SF reader myself.

    Like

    • You may enjoy Arunava Singh’s article at Scroll.in on the tribulations of translators in India. Just to be clear, I am all for encouraging translations of works in Hindi and other regional languages into English, but I also feel it is absurd for Hindi to languish when there are 100s of millions of Hindi speakers/readers. Hence my interest in translating SF work into Hindi.

      Like

Leave a comment

