Review: Nebula Award nominee “The Breath of War” by Aliette de Bodard / Reseña: cuento nominado al Premio Nebula “The Breath of War” de Aliette de Bodard

This review of “The Breath of War” by Aliette de Bodard is the second review of the seven short story nominees for the 2014 Nebula Awards. As you know from earlier posts, each story gets two reads. The first read is my measure of overall satisfaction with the story. The second read is more critical and a chance for me to reconsider my gut reaction.

The first read of “The Breath of War” pretty much hit my gut like a nice balanced meal I might pack for lunch at work — protein, vegetables, fruit — no dessert.

carved_stone_woman_sitting_haiti_1The story is set in a place that I interpreted as something like a mountainous, other worldly Southeast Asia. This world, Voc, is recuperating from a civil war. Our pregnant protagonist is a woman named Rechan who is nearing her due date. She is on a critically important journey into the mountains to meet her breath-sibling, a being who becomes sentient when an adolescent carves one from native stone (a common practice on Voc). There is a lifelong bond between the carver and her breath-sibling, who, in addition to ensuring babies breathe at birth, become part of the extended human family.

Rechan is accompanied by a niece and her breath-sibling, and they have some predictable setbacks on their way to the place where Rechan created her breath-sibling Sang many years earlier. Although the narrator insists that the war is nearly over in the first paragraph, as our protagonist gets closer to the plateau where she left Sang for some unusual and undisclosed reason, a lot of fighting is still going on in the vicinity. Walking and climbing triggers Rechan’s labor, and the story’s tension is ratcheted up by the imminent birth.

Without giving away too much, suffice to say that teenage Rechan carved an unusual breath-sibling and even then realized that this being was an expression of her frustration with the war and not an easy companion to live with, which is why she left him in the mountains. The story concludes with Sang and Rechan reunited just as the baby is delivered.

On my second read, I asked myself why this story wasn’t fully engaging me. Here’s what I think caused me to stumble. The first paragraph didn’t grab me. It’s a bird’s eye view of Voc framed by Rechan’s recollection of family trips to the mountains that occur in between the times when she created Sang and the story’s present. This confusion (was it just me?) could have been avoided because the reminiscence could have been linked to trips before Sang was created and that would have been a more pleasurable set of memories for Rechan, which would have contrasted nicely with her apprehension about the impending visit in the story.

Another issue for me was narration. I felt the narrator was a bit too distant from Rechan and third-person limited seemed almost third-person objective. I trusted the narration, I just didn’t find it warm enough to make me bond with a woman who seemed to have made several impulsive choices without much reflection on dealing with the long-term consequences. Rechan must be who she is, but because she is not very sympathetic, the narration should help me as a reader bridge the gap.

Anyway, let me end this on a positive note. I am completely intrigued by the notion of stone beings coming to life in some kind of imprinted relationship with humans. The descriptions of other breath-siblings were intriguing and I loved the fact that Rechan had drinks with her niece’s breath-sibling even when the niece was not present.   You had me at breath-sibling, de Bodard. I just wish you had helped me find my way further into this world.

Flat palm (neither thumbs up nor down) on reader satisfaction and 3.0 of 5 stars.

PS: With the name “Sang” and the ship/human relationship — I couldn’t get Anne McCaffrey’s “The Ship Who Sang” out of my head while reading this one. Might this be a story experiment framing a longer work or a series of stories?

 

EspanolEsta reseña de “The Breath of War” de Aliette de Bodard es la segunda de los siete cuentos nominados a los Premios Nebula 2014. Como saben de entradas anteriores, cada historia es leída dos veces. La primera lectura es para medir mi satisfacción general con la historia. La segunda es más critica y es una oportunidad para reconsiderar mi reacción instintiva.

La primera lectura de “The Breath of War” básicamente fue como una buena comida balanceada en el trabajo – proteína, vegetales, fruta – sin postre.

La historia se desarrolla en un lugar que yo interpreto como un Asia del sur montañosa de otro mundo. Este mundo, Voc, se está recuperando de una guerra civil. Nuestra protagonista embarazada es una mujer llamada Rechan quien está cerca de dar a luz. Ella está en un viaje crucial en busca de su hermano de aliento, un ser que cobra vida cuando un adolecente lo esculpe de una piedra nativa (una práctica común en Voc). Hay una conexión vitalicia entre el tallador y su hermano de aliento, quien, además de asegurarse que los bebés puedan respirar al nacer, se convierte en parte de la familia extendida.

Rechan es acompañada por una sobrina y su hermano de aliento, y encuentran algunos obstáculos predecibles en el camino al lugar donde Rechan creo a Sang, su hermano de aliento, muchos años atrás. Aunque el narrador insiste en que la guerra ha casi terminado en el primer párrafo, mientras nuestra protagonista se acerca al altiplano donde dejó a Sang por alguna extraña y desconocida razón, todavía hay muchas peleas alrededor. El trabajo de parto de Rechan es acelerado por la caminata y la escalada, y la tensión de la historia se intensifica con su inminente parto.

Sin revelar demasiado, es suficiente decir que como adolecente Rechan esculpió un hermano de aliento inusual e incluso entonces se dio cuenta de que este ser era una expresión de su frustración con la guerra y no un compañero fácil para convivir, razón por la cual lo dejó en las montañas. La historia termina con Sang y Rechan reunidos justo cuando el bebe está naciendo.

En mi segunda lectura, me pregunté por qué no me estaba cautivando la historia. Esto es lo que creo que me dio pausa. El primer párrafo no me atrajo. Es una visión aérea de Voc encuadrada en los recuerdos de Rechan de viajes familiares a las montañas que ocurrieron entre el momento en el que ella creo a Sang y el presente de la historia. La confusión (¿sólo me confundió a mí?) podría haber sido evitada ya que los recuerdos podrían haber estado ligados a viajes antes de la creación de Sang y esos habrían sido recuerdos más placenteros que contrastarían muy bien con su recelo acerca de la inminente visita en la historia.

Otro problema para mí fue la narración. Sentí que el narrador estaba demasiado alejado de Rechan y el narrador en tercera persona limitado parecía casi como un narrador en tercera persona objetivo. Confié en la narración, pero simplemente no me pareció lo suficientemente calurosa para crear un vínculo con una mujer que parecía tomar decisiones impulsivas sin pensar en cómo lidiar con las consecuencias a largo plazo. Rechan debe ser quien es, pero como no es muy simpática, la narración debía ayudarme como lector a acortar la distancia.

En todo caso, me gustaría terminar esto en una nota positiva. Estoy totalmente intrigada por la idea de seres de piedra tomando vida en una especie de relación de impronta con los humanos. Las descripciones de otros hermanos de aliento fueron intrigantes y me encantó que Rechan se tomó unos tragos con el hermano de aliento de su sobrina sin que ésta estuviera presente. Me atrapaste con los hermanos de aliento, de Bodard. Sólo me gustaría que me hubieses ayudado a encontrar mi camino más adentro de este mundo.

Mano plana (pulgar ni hacia arriba, ni hacia abajo) para la satisfacción del lector y 3.0 estrellas sobre 5.

PD: Con el nombre Sang (“cantó” en español) y la relación entre barcos y humanos – no pude sacarme de la mente a “The Ship Who Sang” (“El barco que cantó”) de Anne McCaffrey. ¿Podría ser que este cuento sea un experimento enmarcando una obra más larga o una serie de historias?

One thought on “Review: Nebula Award nominee “The Breath of War” by Aliette de Bodard / Reseña: cuento nominado al Premio Nebula “The Breath of War” de Aliette de Bodard

  1. Pingback: Nebula Nominee Review: “The Meeker and the All-Seeing Eye” by Matthew Kressel | Imagined Worlds | L.A. Barnitz

Leave a comment

