Goodreads winners and other good reads

What does it say about a writer who has read only one nominated book out of all the nominees in the categories of science fiction, fantasy and horror on the Goodreads Choice Awards for 2016? I read all the time, yet this list seems to indicate I am seriously out of step with the reading public. How did I miss Joe Hill’s The Fireman, which won for best horror? I admit I hadn’t heard anything about the winner in the science fiction category–Morning Star, by Pierce Brown, and I have nothing to add to the conversation about the winner for best fantasy novel in 2016,  J.K. Rowling’s Harry Potter and the Cursed Child.

Maybe there’s just so much great material out there I can plausibly argue that I read the “other” good books and stories that didn’t make the Goodreads’ list. I’m going with that theory.

In addition to my reviews here, you can find two “other” good reads I recommend on The Speculative Herald, where I’ve started contributing. First is Feedback by Mira Grant, a part of the Newsflesh series, and second is Josh Malerman’s novella The House at the Bottom of a Lake. This one truly is one of my favorites of the year. Read the ending carefully. Oh, and about that book I did read among the Goodreads’ nominees: it was The Obelisk Gate by N.K. Jemisin, which is an outstanding second novel in a trilogy. My review here.

 

Leave a comment

